Capni avatar1
Coalition of Advanced Practice Nurses of Indiana

January Newsletter

Posted about 1 year ago by Capni Admin





JANUARY 30, 2018


CAPNI Advocacy Day at the Indiana State House is rapidly approaching.  All available APRNs are needed to demonstrate a unified and coordinated presence at the State House.  Organized medicine has been actively lobbying against APRN full practice authority and we need to counter this opposition.  There are typically 1400 bills submitted to the Indiana Legislature during session and only about 200 bills pass.  Furthermore, this year the legislative session is short and ends in March.   Therefore, it is critical that all Indiana APRNs bring our issues to the forefront. 

If you have not yet registered for Advocacy Day 2018 please do so without delay.  If you have already registered, thank you.   

Advocacy Day 2018

Tuesday January 30, 10am-2pm

South Atrium Indiana State House

To Register go to CAPNI website!




Registration is open for the 2018 CAPNI Annual APRN Conference.   This new location will accommodate this growing conference. 


February 15 and 16, 2018

Pre-conference Workshops February 14

Marriott Downtown

Indianapolis, IN


Attendance to the Annual APRN Conference not only provides the opportunity to update skills and knowledge but also to network with colleagues and leaders in our profession.   Preconference workshops are available again by popular demand. 


Go to the CAPNI website to view agenda and to register today.  Early Bird Registration expires January 14, 2018.




CAPNI plans to submit legislation during the 2018 Legislative Session.  The goal of this legislation is to modernize APRN practice in Indiana by retiring the collaborative practice agreement (CPA) and have full practice authority (FPA) for APRNs in our state.  This will reduce barriers to health care for Hoosiers, especially those in health care provider shortage communities.  Additionally, the legislation will change our title to APRN from outdated APN and require master degree as minimum education and national certification to practice.  Organized medicine is actively lobbying against this legislation and have undermined some of our past achievements.   Don’t let this be the only voice legislators hear. 


It is now more important than ever for you to contact your state senator and state representative about this legislation.  If you need to identify your state legislators go to:


To assist you with this, CAPNI has developed updated letter templates.   These templates are in outline form to enable one to draft a personalized letter.  Legislators prefer not to receive multiple, identical form letters.  To access this letter template, go to the Legislative Affairs tab on the CAPNI website and then go to the CAPNI State Policy Tool Kit.   There are also letter templates for physicians and health care consumers for you to share with other supportive stakeholders.





In memory of founding CAPNI member Debra Brock, scholarships are awarded annually to APRN MSN and DNP students.  This year the scholarship amount is $1000 to be awarded to one MSN and one DNP student.  Applications will be accepted until April 1, 2018 with scholarship funds distributed by July 1.   Go to the CAPNI website to access the application and to take advantage of this valuable benefit to CAPNI members.  




This year’s recipients of the Marcia Plant-Jackson Award are Kelly Freeman MSN, NP-C of Westfield, IN and NP student Kylee Rohatgi RN of South Bend, IN.  This award covers registration, travel and lodging to attend the AANP 2018 Health Policy Conference in Washington DC.  This year the conference is scheduled February 4-6.  Congratulations to these worthy recipients who will attend the conference with other CAPNI members. 





With completion of CAPNI annual elections, there are some changes in CAPNI Board of Directors which will become effective in February.   Congratulations to newly elected, re-elected and appointed board members. Thank you to the incumbents for their continued service.  

Effective February, 2018 CAPNI Board of Directors:


Caitlin Vlaeminck,  President

Brandon Lee, Vice President

Gina Connolly, Secretary

Kristy Umana, Treasurer

Cathy Cooper, Past-President


Lauren Winkler, Region 1

Melanie Braswell, Region 2

Debra Hills, Region 3

Sara Ridlen, Region 4

Alyssa Cripe, Region 5

Bryan Army, Region 6

Darla Gowan, Region 7

No candidates, Region 8

Judy Sieg, Region 9

Stacie Housholder, Region 10

Sheri Stohler Bennett, Region 11

Kathy Miley, Region 12

Susie Martin, Region 13


Angela Thompson, Legislative Chair

Stephanie Vanderhorst, Certified Nurse Midwife Representative

Jennifer Woodard, Clinical Nurse Specialist Representative

Karen Nelson, Student Representative

Lauren Cottingham, Student Representative


Attention Region 8 members.  There were no candidates nominated for Region 8.  Don’t let your region go without representation.  Consider stepping up to take the Region 8 Representative position.   Contact CAPNI via the website, nominating committee Judy Sieg  or Cathy Cooper CAPNI President     


Cathy Cooper FNP-C, CAPNI President